Our Team

Core Values – Integrity, Passion, Knowledge and Respect.

Meet Our Team

Martin B. Hellwig
President
mhellwig@tbgfs.com

I like everything about my role at Trans-Border and working with so many talented people from so many diverse families and cultures. Our +20 years in business is proof that we do have the best employees in the industry. I’m very proud and honored to be part of such an incredible group.

  • Years in Industry: 36 years
  • Industry Focus: Global Sales & Business Development
  • Random Fact: I was once locked in a dryer for two hours.
  • Phobia: Flying
  • Favorite Food: Italian
  • Favorite Movie: Jaws

Jeffrey M. Millens
Chief Operating Officer
jmillens@tbgfs.com

I never knew what I was going to do when I grew up (some people say I still haven’t!), but I found a career that allows me to utilize multiple skill sets (multi-tasking, time management, creativity and much more) and work with some of the smartest, hardworking and dedicated people that I have ever met. Bottom Line – I feel lucky and privileged to be at Trans-Border and spread the freight MOJO… bam – bam – bam !!

My enjoyment in working with customers is that we have the ability at Trans-Border to offer real value that helps them be more profitable. What’s that mean? That means we allow our customers to focus on their core business and we offer the highest level of professional guidance and service in regard to freight & compliance. On a personal level, I greatly enjoy the friendships I have made with many customers. They are great people with whom we have the privilege to be working with. One last thing – it is really interesting to hear the history of how all of these businesses started – some in basements, some in garages, but all with energy, creativity and the great American spirit!

  • Years in Industry: 31 years
  • Industry Focus: Sales, Operations and Marketing
  • Random Fact: At a bar I never get fruit in my vodka as lemons & limes are the dirtiest thing in the bar!
  • Phobia: Way too many to count – it’s exhausting….
  • Favorite Food: Only 1, no way! – Filet Mignon/chicken parm/Calamari Steak (Joey’s in Syracuse)
  • Favorite Movie: Grandma’s Boy / Gladiator / Saturday Night Fever

Joshua A. Spiegel
Chief Financial Officer
jspiegel@tbgfs.com

One of my favorite aspects of Trans-Border is working with our many overseas partners and dealing with so many different cultures, all in the same industry. I often get to travel to their locations all over the world as well as welcome them here to the U.S.

I also enjoy helping customers build and succeed at their business. We are truly an extension of their company and when they do well, we do well!

  • Years in Industry: 34 years
  • Industry Focus: U.S. Customs, Agent Relations and Finance
  • Random Fact: I have been cage diving with great white sharks off the coast of South Africa
  • Phobia: See above!
  • Favorite Food: Italian or a nice thick, juicy rib-eye
  • Favorite Movie: Dumb and Dumber

Sumar Bhatti
Director of Freight Operations
sbhatti@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy most about my role here is the diversity on the Trans-Border team and amongst our customers.

  • Random Fact: I’m a little shy…
  • Phobia: Heights and scary movies
  • Favorite Food: Steak
  • Favorite Movie: Fireproof

Brunilda Carroll
Director of Exports 
bcarroll@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy the most about my role here on the Trans-Border team is that we are a family!

  • Random Fact: I get nauseous at the sound of the word moist…
  • Phobia: Snakes
  • Favorite Food: Pizza
  • Favorite Movie: Gone with the Wind

Dianne Klamm
Director of National Accounts
dklamm@tbgfs.com

I like training new salespeople but I especially love selling Trans-Border’s services, meeting with clients and providing solutions to their needs.

  • Random Fact: When I was five years old, I was the “Weather Girl” on the children’s TV show – Romper Room
  • Phobia: Must have all things in order – neat freak!
  • Favorite Food: Raw Oysters
  • Favorite Movie: Dirty Dancing

Kelly Jackson
Director of Operational Excellence
kjackson@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy most about working here at Trans-Border is solving problems & finding a way to make it happen!

  • Random Fact: I ❤️ Genealogy!
  • Phobia: Being Late
  • Favorite Food: Steak Tacos
  • Favorite Show: Schitt’s Creek
Department Manager

Karyn Kokernak
Accounting Manager
kkokernak@tbgfs.com

I enjoy working with everyone here at Trans-Border and I especially enjoy seeing the growth we have had over the last 20 years. Who knew we would go from 6 to almost 70 in such a short time period! I am honored to have been here since the beginning and I value all of our customers and vendors, they have made us who we are today.

  • Random Fact: I knit .. all of the time … but not during work.
  • Phobia: Bridges – especially if I have to drive over them!
  • Favorite Food: Anything seafood
  • Favorite Movie: The Sound of Music

Lori Cotillo
Credit & Collections
lcotillo@tbgfs.com

Tina Kenyon
Administrative Assistant & Accounts Payable
tkenyon@tbgfs.com

Department Manager

Dan Hollenbeck
Agent Pricing & Routing Manager
dhollenbeck@tbgfs.com

I have been here at Trans-Border for almost 14 years and one of the things I enjoy the most, is coming up with clever ways to route our customers freight so we can save them time and money.

  • Random Fact: I have never drank a cup of coffee.
  • Phobia: Arachibutyrophobia
  • Favorite Food: Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas
  • Favorite Movie: Gone in 60 Seconds

Nicole Surani
Agent Pricing & Routing
nsurani@tbgfs.com

Sean O’Neil
Agent Pricing & Routing
soneil@tbgfs.com

Tigist Simegn
Agent Pricing & Routing
tsimegn@tbgfs.com

Rob Van Dine
Agent Pricing & Routing
rvandine@tbgfs.com

For international shipment queries, please reach out to agentpricing@tbgfs.com.

Stormy Lesperance
Customs House Brokerage Manager
slesperance@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy most about working at Trans-Border is that we are all working toward a common goal.  I am surrounded by a lot of highly driven and successful people who genuinely care about those they work with and the customers they represent.  I enjoy the everyday challenge and working with a team who is gifted and fun!

  • Random Fact: I had the privilege of being stage manager for the production of Modern Millie in 2011-12.  It was one of the most challenging and rewarding experience I’ve ever had.
  • Phobia: Pteronophobia
  • Favorite Food: Soul food
  • Favorite Movie: Sandlot

Lauren Benway
Customs House Brokerage
Licensed Customs Broker
lbenway@tbgfs.com

Kaitlyn MacMannis
Customs House Brokerage
kmacmannis@tbgfs.com

Jacqui Votra
Customs House Brokerage
Licensed Customs Broker
jvotra@tbgfs.com

Jose Garcia
Customs House Brokerage
jgarcia@tbgfs.com

Anthony Orta
Customs House Brokerage
aorta@tbgfs.com

Department Manager

Jason Frazier
General Manager of Domestic
jfrazier@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy most about having worked in the world of Freight Forwarding and Transportation, for over 15 years, is that no two days are the same.

  • Random Fact: I co-own a Seafood market in Harlem NY, El Puerto Seafood.
  • Phobia: Rats
  • Favorite Food: Anything Caribbean!
  • Favorite Movie: The Town
Department Manager

Marcel Bruckmann
Domestic Operations Manager
mbruckmann@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy most about working at Trans-Border is the diversity we have among our team.

  • Random Fact: I love Rot-Weiss Essen
  • Phobia: Schalke
  • Favorite Food: Döner
  • Favorite Movie: Lord of the Rings

William Harloff
Domestic Operations
wharloff@tbgfs.com 

Bruce Bashaw
Domestic Operations
bbashaw@tbgfs.com

Iryna Cherkavska
Domestic Operations
icherkavska@tbgfs.com

Department Manager

Jason Frazier
General Manager of Domestic
jfrazier@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy most about having worked in the world of Freight Forwarding and Transportation, for over 15 years, is that no two days are the same.

  • Random Fact: I co-own a Seafood market in Harlem NY, El Puerto Seafood.
  • Phobia: Rats
  • Favorite Food: Anything Caribbean!
  • Favorite Movie: The Town
Department Manager

Conor Begley
Domestic Pricing & Routing Manager
cbegley@tbgfs.com

Joe Zeglen
Domestic Pricing
jzeglen@tbgfs.com

Department Manager

Will Fitzgerald
Export Operations Manager
wfitzgerald@tbgfs.com

I love the people I work with. We have a great team that is full of industry knowledge and we challenge each other every day to learn more.

  • Random Fact: I waste about 3 hours every Sunday during football season watching the New York Jets.
  • Phobia: Fear of blood. From a young age, I knew I wasn’t going to be a doctor.
  • Favorite Food: Anything Italian (specifically veal parm)
  • Favorite Movie: Best In Show 
Department Assistant Manager

Chris Jupin
Assistant Export Operations Manager
cjupin@tbgfs.com

  • Random Fact: I studied abroad in Strasbourg, France for 4 months during my junior year of college.
  • Phobia: Small Spaces
  • Favorite Food: Grilled Steak, Baked Potato & Green Beans
  • Favorite Movie: Step Brothers

Andrew Thomas
Export Operations
athomas@tbgfs.com

Sandra Retell
Export Operations
sretell@tbgfs.com

Chris Manning
Export Operations
cmanning@tbgfs.com

Maggie Doyle
Export Operations
mdoyle@tbgfs.com

Nick Savallo
Export Operations
nsavallo@tbgfs.com

Connor Spiezio
Export Operations
cspiezio@tbgfs.com

Alyssa Delaney
Export Pricing Manager
Certified Dangerous Goods Specialist

adelaney@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy the most about working at Trans-Border is … The family atmosphere!

  • Random Fact: I probably have over 200 pairs of shoes.
  • Phobia:  Driving off a bridge and drowning in my car.
  • Favorite Food: Pizza or Mashed Potatoes
  • Favorite Movie: “Grandmas Boy”

Dorina Neli
Export Pricing & Routing
dneli@tbgfs.com

Matthew Anthanial
Export Pricing & Routing
manthanial@tbgfs.com

Erich Stuthmann
Export Pricing & Routing
estuthmann@tbgfs.com

Noelle Cave
Assistant Import Operations Manager
ncave@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy most about working at Trans-Border is that there is always something to do… helping colleagues, answering questions, learning new things, and most importantly, making customers happy!

  • Random Fact: I lived in a 20 FT shipping container (how ironic) for 10 months while deployed overseas with the Army!
  • Phobia: Snakes and Drowning
  • Favorite Food: Lasagna
  • Favorite Movie: Planes, Trains, and Automobiles

Stephanie Weissman
Assistant Import Operations Manager
sweissman@tbgfs.com

I love that every day there is something new to learn and a new problem to solve. I never get bored working here.

  • Random Fact: I share a birthday with my sister, but we are not twins.
  • Phobia: Heights and fire
  • Favorite Food: Sushi
  • Favorite Movie: Mystery Alaska

Bethany Uber
Import Operations
buber@tbgfs.com

Allison Brown
Import Operations
abrown@tbgfs.com

Kitty Carter
Operations & Claims Specialist
kcarter@tbgfs.com

Tiffiny Came
Import Operations
tcame@tbgfs.com

Kelly Tiberio
Import Operations
ktiberio@tgbfs.com

Deepti Dixit
Import Operations
ddixit@tbgfs.com

Amy Hall-Clothier
Import Operations
ahclothier@tbgfs.com

Waheed Hameed
Import Operations
whameed@tbgfs.com

Rahim Karim
Import Operations
rkarim@tbgfs.com

Corey Rybicki
Import Operations
crybicki@tbgfs.com

Anup Jhagroo
Import Operations
ajhagroo@tbgfs.com

Audrey Miller
Import Operations
amiller@tbgfs.com

Marissa Santiago
Import Operations
msantiago@tbgfs.com

Mara Todd
Import Operations
mtodd@tbgfs.com

Malisa Safie
Import Operations
msafie@tbgfs.com

Department Manager

Tyler Samborin
Import Pricing Manager
tsamborin@tbgfs.com

What I love most about working at Trans-Border is the family-oriented environment and amazing people we are surrounded by every day.

  • Random Fact: I have 7, yes 7 cats.  2 of them being pure breed Bengals.
  • Phobia: Overflowing Garbage
  • Favorite Food: Chicken Marsala
  • Favorite Movie: The Town

Ashley Rutz
Import Pricing & Routing
arutz@tbgfs.com

Joseph Wilder
Import Pricing & Routing
jwilder@tbgfs.com 

Department Manager

Brendon Fisher
Information Systems Manager
bfisher@tbgfs.com

  • Random Fact: I am very good at card tricks.
  • Phobia: Swimming in open waters
  • Favorite Food: Italian or Thai
  • Favorite Movie: Inception and The Matrix

Reba Leahy
IT Systems Specialist
rleahy@tbgfs.com

Sydney Clark
Marketing Specialist
sclark@tbgfs.com

Bill Carey
Import Compliance & Systems Manager
bcarey@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy the most about working at Trans-Border is the satisfaction of helping customers through difficult situations.

  • Random Fact: The drummer from Def Leppard only has one arm.
  • Phobia: Atychiphobia
  • Favorite Food: Chicken Wings
  • Favorite Movie: The Goonies

Lisa Howard
Import Business Development Manager
lhoward@tbgfs.com

Working directly with the customers is the best part of my job. When assisting and educating them on the industry, they are so appreciative. Getting a “Thank you” from them just motivates me to work that much harder for them.

  • Random Fact: During your lifetime, you will produce enough saliva to fill two swimming pools
  • Phobia: Claustrophobia
  • Favorite Food: Conch Fritters with Caribbean dipping sauce. Mmm mmm good!
  • Favorite Movie: Mel Brooks Young Frankenstein

Jonathan Mongin
Strategic Account Manager
jmongin@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy most about my role here on the Trans-Border team is getting to work with a lot of different people on their important projects.

  • Phobia: Bugs (yuck)
  • Favorite Food: A good beef stew and apple pie
  • Favorite Movie: Star Wars

Paul Clark
Export Compliance Manager
pclark@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy the most about working at Trans-Border is the positive team environment.

  • Phobia: None
  • Favorite Food: Pizza
  • Favorite Movie: Pulp Fiction

David Usher
Agent Business Development Manager
dusher@tbgfs.com

I enjoy the teamwork and camaraderie we have within Trans-Border. Our customers are knowledgeable, and experienced in their field and are a pleasure to work with.

  • Random Fact: I am a ping pong master!
  • Phobia: Great White Sharks
  • Favorite Food: Anything Ethnic (Indian, Moroccan, Thai, Mexican)
  • Favorite Movie: Shawshank Redemption
Department Manager

Zachary Pyle
Project Logistics Manager

zpyle@tbgfs.com

  • Random Fact: I have been to 40 of 50 states in the US
  • Phobia: The Unknown
  • Favorite Food: Pizza
  • Favorite Movie: Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

Damien Jarrett
Inside Sales Manager
djarrett@tbgfs.com

Read my bio!

Jared B. Millens
Account Executive — NY Capital Region and Vermont
jaredmillens@tbgfs.com

Read my bio!

Melissa Mattis
Account Executive — New England Region
mmattis@tbgfs.com

Department Manager

Kate Klein
Trade Finance Manager
kklein@tbgfs.com

What I enjoy most about my role with Trans-Border is that every day I learn something new!

  • Random Fact: Only 2% of the population have naturally green eyes (I have green eyes!).
  • Phobia: Beetle-y type bugs totally freak me out…
  • Favorite Food: Lasagna
  • Favorite Movie: Shawshank Redemption

Sherri Dugan
Trade Finance Administrative Assistant  
sdugan@tbgfs.com